top of page

About Us

The Versailles, Midway and Woodford County Human Rights Commission is made up of 9 members:



Our meetings are open to the public and take place the first Thursday of every other month at the MUST building, or elsewhere as posted. The meetings begin at 6:30 PM.

Tim Middleton, Chairperson

Cindy Batts, Secretary 

Jorge Espinoza

Elizabeth Turley

Joann Muir

Chris Wright

Wendall Shipp

Ronnie Smith

WCHRC pic_edited.jpg


The Kentucky General Assembly created the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights in 1960. Initially, the state government agency was instructed to encourage fair treatment and foster mutual understanding and respect, and to discourage discrimination against any racial or ethnic group or its members. 


However, in 1966, the commission role expanded with the passage of The Kentucky Civil Rights Act (Kentucky Revised Statute [KRS]344). This law made discrimination illegal on a state level, and it made the Kentucky Commission on Human Rights the statutory authority to enforce the law for the Commonwealth. Kentucky became the first state south of the Mason Dixon Line to make discrimination illegal.

What we do 
  • Our purpose is to protect you from discrimination by enforcing the Kentucky Civil Rights Act in Versailles, Midway and Woodford County. 

  • Our duty is to receive, initiate, investigate, seek to conciliate, and forward complaints alleging violations of the Kentucky Civil Rights Act to the State Commission for further rulings. 

  • We also help our communities understand the importance of civil rights and their right to equality.

  • Bi-Monthly meetings which are open to the public.

  • Budget is supplied by local governments. Our committee is a non-paid position, and all volunteer.

  • Committee members are appointed by local governing bodies.

bottom of page